University Of Fort Hare Faculties

By | January 11, 2019

University Of Fort Hare Faculties, the various faculties in the institutiton are provided below, please click the links below to help you access.

Faculty of Education

Welcome to the Faculty of Education at the University of Fort Hare.  We are a dynamic and vibrant Faculty, with a diverse staff and student population.  We are located in two campuses, both offering a number of initial Teacher Education, as well as continuing professional development programmes. In the Alice campus we have the School of Further and Continuing Education; and in the East London Campus the School of General and Continuing Education.

We are also the home of the Nelson Mandela Institute for Education and Rural Development which was formally launched by the late President Nelson Mandela in 2007, placing his legacy work in rural education at his alma mater, the University of Fort Hare.  It is accountable to a respected Board of Trustees, reflecting civil society, the university sector and the Department of Basic Education.

Over the last 10 years the Faculty has experienced a quantum growth in enrolment and research productivity. This has earned it a place as one of the highly rated of the five faculties of the University of Fort Hare; as well as nationally. As part of our pursuit of excellence, we have embarked on an exciting and innovative project; the establishment of a transdisciplinary Early Childhood Development Centre of Excellence which will be situated at the East London Campus.

In this connection, we have developed a ten year vision to establishing the Centre as an internationally recognised hub of knowledge, expertise and thought leadership in the field of early childhood development.  During the course of vision development we have interacted and established a number of national and international partners who have expressed a keen interest in working with us. These partnerships will enhance the Faculty’s relevance to addressing national development challenges as well its internationalisation profile.    

We hope that in course of perusing our website you will find links that will enable you to connect with relevant information and key actors, leading to enriching your experiences as we work together in excellence.

Faculty of Health Sciences    

It is a pleasure to welcome you to the Faculty of Health Sciences at the University of Fort Hare. The vision of the Faculty of Health Sciences is to be a vibrant, competent, committed and be a globally recognized faculty through the provision of excellence in teaching, learning, research and community engagement. The outstanding programs in the faculty provide students the opportunity to explore basic and applied sciences and health care careers. The academic staff are student-focused and dedicated to providing high quality educational experiences that expand student’s knowledge beyond the classroom into practical occupations that spur lifelong learning and a spirit of inquiry and reflection.

Faculty of Law (Nelson R. Mandela School of Law)

Welcome to the Nelson R. Mandela School of Law. The Faculty of Law was established in 1961 and received permission to rename itself after former President Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela in 1998. The School of Law was formerly established under that name in 2002.  It is my honour to introduce you to our School.

Dr Nombulelo Lubisi
Dean: Faculty of Law
Email: [email protected]

Faculty of Management & Commerce


Welcome to the University of Fort Hare’s faculty of Management and Commerce. We pride ourselves for being part of the institution that has produced and continues to produce leaders in government and in the private sector. The faculty of Management and Commerce comprises seven departments, including our flagship Bachelor of Accounting.

This is the only faculty in the institution which has offerings in all three campuses of the institution. It provides quality and challenging education aimed at filling the public and private sector employment needs, not only the Eastern Cape but for the country and Africa as a whole. With a strong focus on entrepreneurship, our aim is to produce graduates who are able to participate in the global economy not only as employees but also as employers. We have a dedicated and experienced academic staff who have built strong relationships industrial and public partners to expose students to relevant teaching, research and community engagement opportunities.

Come and join us!! We are looking for bright and inquisitive minds for our faculty- people who will make a difference in the future. We produce leaders in the economy and in government.

Dr Ntombovuyo Wayi

Dean: Faculty of Management and Commerce, University of Fort Hare

t: +27 (0) 43 704 7393 (East London)    
+27 (0) 40 602 2284 (Alice)   
+27 (0) 40 608 3403 (Bhisho)

Faculty of Science & Agriculture

I invite you to take a few minutes of your time to look at our webpage and the programmes we offer in the Faculty of Science and Agriculture at the University of Fort Hare.  Brief descriptions of the programmes are given, as well as the entrance requirements and other important guidelines for student enrolment in the Faculty.

I am sure that many of you would like to have more details regarding specific programmes or disciplines at undergraduate and graduate level.  I personally invite you to visit our webpage.  We in the Faculty are looking forward to working with you to help you obtain your career goals. We also have a number of centres and units which form an integral part of the Faculty, and act as a link between the University and the communities it serves.

Our students come from every province in South Africa as well as from many foreign countries.  This gives us the desirable blend of cultures and ethnic groups that enhances the academic experience at the University of Fort Hare.  At Fort Hare, you will receive outstanding education at a nationally recognised institution, located in an extremely friendly environment.

Prof N Monde
Faculty of Science & Agriculture

Faculty of Social Sciences & Humanities

The Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities (FSSH) was established through an amalgamation of schools, departments and programmes some of which have been in existence for close to a century. The Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities was established on 1 January 2005 as a partial outcome of the University’s Strategic Planning process to facilitate the incorporation of the East London Campus. The Faculty has its roots in the former Faculty of African and Democracy Studies which was constituted out of the former Faculties of Arts, Law and Theology, and now incorporates the East London based Social Science and Humanities academic departments, together with and the Eastern Cape Audio Visual Centre (ECAVC) in East London, and the National Heritage and Cultural Studies Centre (NAHECS) in Alice.