Sefako Makgatho Nursing Fees

Sefako Makgatho Nursing Fees, the Nursing Science Department is one of the biggest departments in the School of Health Care Sciences. The Department was established in 1979 and became the first in South Africa to provide the BCUR programme for young black matriculants wishing to study the basic nursing programme at university level to become registered nurses.  The Department has contributed immensely towards the health care of society by producing graduate nurses of a high calibre.


To be a leading Nursing Science Department striving to epitomize excellence in preparing students for the world of work (scholarly, public and private sector) in various contexts addressing the needs of communities through innovative ideas.


The Nursing Science Department is dedicated to the training and education of competent health care professionals through excellence in teaching, learning, research and community engagement in order to serve the health needs of our changing society.


It is the belief of the Nursing Science Department at the Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University that the product of the basic learner program in nursing leading to the registration as a nurse (General, Psychiatric, Community) and a Midwife should, through community based education, guided by accompaniment and a culture sensitive approach, develop a scientific body of knowledge that will enable him/her to implement the nursing process skilfully while caring for patients, clients,  families and the community holistically.

Scientific knowledge: The body of evidence based scientific knowledge which encompasses the preventive, promotive, curative and rehabilitative care in all age groups throughout the entire lifespan.

Facilitator: The department believes that the person charged with the guidance of students, must through continuing education, keep abreast with contemporary health and education issues affecting health care and higher education in relation to the social economic, political and cultural changes in the community.

Learner: A learner-centred approach is adopted. Guidance should be based on specific and cross-field outcomes for adult learning for excellence in nursing.
Process: The Department believes that an integrated adult learning approach will provide the learner with the optimal opportunity to develop the required competencies and professionalism, and that learning can take place under a variety of conditions, e.g. simulation. The department believes that a learner must have maximum exposure to real life situations including technology and web-based learning.  The department believes that the curriculum must be relevant to the needs of the community at all levels in all settings within the primary health care context.  Self-directed learning is embraced and promoted.

Academic Staff

Prof E.J. Van Aswegen4305/4664[email protected]
Prof J.D. Mokoena4439[email protected]
Prof M.L.M. Sengane4474[email protected]
Dr M.M. Tlapu3513[email protected]
Dr L.D. Madalane5983[email protected]
Dr D. Chetty5724[email protected]
Dr M.M. Madumo5724[email protected]
Dr B.Y. Uys3078[email protected]
Ms M.B. Randa3751[email protected]
Ms M.F. Mkhonto4478[email protected]
Ms M.M.N. Ntsoele3039[email protected]
Ms L.K. Motswasele3757[email protected]
Mr K.P. Khosa5915[email protected]
Ms B.M. Selaledi5913[email protected]
Ms M.J. Black4761[email protected]
Ms L.M. Phiri3750[email protected]
Ms M.E. Mahlangu3750[email protected]
Ms C.A. Mbokazi3748[email protected]
Ms E.M. Thobakgale3750[email protected]
Ms T.S. Mudau3755[email protected]
Ms P.P. Ndlovu3748[email protected]
Ms T.E. Nkhwashu3755[email protected]
Ms S.M. Moloko4477[email protected]
Ms A.G. Mokoena4477[email protected]

Undergraduate Programmes


Degree: Bachelor of Nursing Science and Art

The B Cur/BNSA is a degree programme leading to registration as a Nurse (general, psychiatric, community) and midwife in accordance with R425. The BCUR/BNSA curriculum consists of both theory which is taught in the classroom and clinical practice which is done in an approved hospital/clinic depending on the level of study.  A clinical schedule, to which students must adhere, is compiled in collaboration with the approved institutions. The duration of the degree programme is four (4) academic years. The curriculum consists of the Nursing and Midwifery courses and the relevant clinical practice, pharmacology, biological and social sciences.

Duration: Full time, 4 year programme in accordance with the South African Nursing Council (SANC).

Postgraduate Programmes


The course is a post-registration degree program presented in modules with clinical and non-clinical pathways in line with the South African Council R212.  Non-clinical pathways include Nursing Education, and Nursing Management. Clinical pathways include Community Health Nursing Science, Midwifery and Neonatal Nursing Science, Medical and Surgical Nursing Science, Child Nursing, Occupational Health Nursing Science, Clinical Nursing Science, Health Assessment, Treatment and Care, Psychiatric Nursing Science: NOTE:  All pathway subjects will be registerable with the SA Nursing Council for additional qualification. Relevant practical work is done during university vacation and if necessary, over weekends


The Diploma in Occupational Health Nursing is offered by the Department of Nursing Science and Environmental and Occupational Health in Public Health.


The programme shall be comprised of two core subjects namely Research Methodology and Nursing Dynamics. At least two papers should be chosen from the following electives: Nursing Education, Health Services Administration, Advanced Psychiatric Nursing Science, Advanced Community Health Nursing Science, Advanced Midwifery and Neonatal Nursing Science, Advanced Medical and Surgical Nursing.

800 Hours of appropriate and/or prescribed practica in an approved post for a clinical B Cur Honours degree

Presentation: The course can be presented on a part-time or full-time basis

The major course shall be selected in collaboration with the head of the Department and in relation to the degree and qualifications held by the student.


M Cur

The M Cur programme for both clinical and non-clinical courses shall consist of course work and a minor dissertation.  Students who have completed an honours degree and have fully or partly complied with the requirement for course work shall be exempted accordingly, and can proceed with the research aspect of the Masters degree.  This will be a minor dissertation.

Students who do not wish to undertake coursework can register for a Masters degree by research and submit a full dissertation.

All students registered for M Cur regardless of focus must register for:
MCDS801          Dissertation
BARE801          Research Methodology

Electives for all students pursuing a clinical or non-clinical Masters degree by course work must be on a major subject of the basic degree or completed coursework for the Honours degree

Duration: Minimum 2 years; Maximum 4 years for all students


Doctoral degree studies are by research only.

Duration: No longer than five years

Note:  Except where otherwise stated, the General Rules for postgraduate studies shall apply to the honours degree