University Of Pretoria Logo

by Israel Boafo Bansah

University Of Pretoria Logo

University Of Pretoria Logo,The University of Pretoria turns 110 in February 2018. It is a world-class university which is one of the biggest research producers in South Africa and in Africa. It is unique as it is the only university in the country that has a Veterinary Science Faculty. This Faculty is highly recognised in Africa.

Spread over seven campuses, it now has more than 53 000 students, nine faculties and a business school. Faculties are set out below:

  • Economic and Management Sciences
  • Education
  • Engineering, Built Environment and Information Technology
  • Health Sciences
  • Humanities
  • Law
  • Natural and Agricultural Sciences
  • Theology
  • Veterinary Science and the
  • Gordon Institute of Business Science (GIBS).

The university has 120 academic departments and offers 1213 study programmes, 230 degrees, certificates and diplomas, 166 undergraduate programmes and 1047 postgraduate programmes, with more than 35 sporting codes. It has awarded more than 365 500 qualifications, while it has produced more than 267 000 alumni, many of whom hold high profile positions in business and in society.

It is producing high quality graduates who are equipped to succeed in a rapidly changing world. It was ranked 92nd in the world for law, according to the 2017 Times Higher Education Law subject ranking; and according to the QS World University Rankings 2018, it is now among the top 52% of ranked institutions.

The QS World University Rankings rate the top tertiary institutions around the world against several indicators, including academic reputation, employer reputation, the number of citations per faculty, the student-to-faculty ratio, and the number of international faculty and students.

The University also features in the top 40 universities in the BRICS region and the top three in South Africa, according to the QS University World Rankings 2018.

Related Articles